67 Metro Bus Operators ‘Distinguished’ As the Best in Safety and Customer Service

Posted on: Oct 22, 2012

(Kansas City, Mo. – Oct. 22, 2012) The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) will honor 67 full- and part-time Metro bus operators during the 28th annual Distinguished Drivers Awards Ceremony on Thursday, Oct., 25. Two ceremonies will be held, one at 10 a.m. and one at 2 p.m. in the KCATA Trainmen’s Room, 1350 E. 17th St.

The 2012 award recipients met rigid criteria that emphasize driver safety, customer service, reliability and attendance in a 12-month period from July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012. Metro operators are eligible for the honor if they have:
• No avoidable accidents
• No chargeable customer complaints
• No written violations or suspensions
• No missed assignments
• No more than one late arrival to work
• No more than eight non-vacation days off work

The Distinguished Drivers ceremony will honor operators in three categories; Grand Master Driver awards are presented to two operators who have earned distinguished driver status 10 years, and the Master Driver recognition will be awarded to four operators earning five years as a distinguished driver. The remaining 61 operators earned distinguished driver status during the current program year, including three operators with more than 20 Distinguished Drivers awards: Richard Green, 20 years; O.B. Jemerson, 26 years; and Ignacio Orozco III, 20 years.

2012 Grand Master Drivers
- Freddie Ersery
- Melvin Robinson
2012 Master Drivers
- Kenneth Ford
- Jeffrey Mahan
- John Mallory
- Michael Raveill