Board of Commissioners

The ATA is governed by a 10-member Board of Commissioners, five from Missouri and five from Kansas. Commissioners are limited to two consecutive four-year terms. Responsibility for the management, control and operation of the Authority and its properties is vested in the Board. The Board exercises its responsibility by adopting all general policies of the Authority, including the adoption of annual capital and operating budgets, the establishment of the goals of the Authority, and the selection of a General Manager. The Board may delegate certain duties and responsibilities to the General Manager for the management and operation of the Authority.

Kansas Commissioner Appointment Process

From the inception of the ATA in 1965 until 2000, the Governor of Kansas appointed commissioners, subject to confirmation by the State Senate and the Kansas Commissioners representing Johnson and Leavenworth counties. In 2000, the process was changed so that these two commissioners are now appointed by their respective county commissioners. The other three Kansas commissioners, representing the Wyandotte County jurisdiction, have always been appointed by the Mayor of Kansas City, Kansas, now known as the Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas. However in 2000, the process changed to include a requirement that these appointments must be approved by the City Commissioners.

Missouri Commissioner Appointment Process

The Kansas City, Missouri, Mayor appoints three of the five Missouri Commissioners, including a direct appointment that must be a Kansas City, Mo., resident. The Clay and Platte County Commissioners will each submit a list of three eligible candidates for the Mayor's consideration. The Jackson County Executive appoints a Commissioner from a community, other than Kansas City which contracts with KCATA for service. The other Missouri Commissioner must reside in Cass County, be nominated by that county's commission, then be appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.


Steve Klika, Chairman, Johnson County, Kansas
Vice Chairman, Johnson Country Board of Commissioners

Daniel Serda, Vice Chairman, Kansas City, Kansas - email
Principal and founder, inSITE planning LLC

Dennis Bixby, Secretary, Leavenworth County, Kansas - email
Board of Commissioners, Leavenworth County, Kansas
Bixby Repair, Owner

Gary Mallory, Treasurer, Cass County, Missouri - email

David Bower, Jackson County, Missouri

Melissa Bynum, Wyandotte County, Kansas - email
Unified Government Board of Commissioners
Executive Director of Shepherd’s Center of KCKS

Jim Klobnak, City of Kansas City, Missouri - email
Klobnak Law Firm, Attorney at Law

Thomas E. Sims, Clay County, Missouri
Retired Judge

Michael Short, Platte County, Missouri
Ameritas Investment Corp., Vice President & Director – Public Finance, Kansas City, Missouri

(Not pictured)
Ricky D. Turner, Kansas City, Kansas - email
Pastor of Oak Ridge Missionary Baptist Church

Board of Commissioners Meetings

The Board of Commissioners meets monthly, on Wednesdays, in the Breen Administration Building, 1200 E. 18th Street, Kansas City, Mo., 64108. Meetings begin at 12:00 p.m. Schedule of meetings for 2016:

Meetings are held in the Large Conference Room of the Howard C. Breen Administration office.

Committee Meetings


Economic Development