The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (ATA) is a bi-state agency created by a compact between the States of Missouri and Kansas, and approved by the United States Congress. The compact was authorized by legislation passed in both states in 1965. The compact gives the ATA responsibility for planning, construction, owning and operating passenger transportation systems and facilities within the seven-county Kansas City metropolitan area. The compact defines the ATA district as the counties of Cass, Clay, Jackson, and Platte in Missouri; and Johnson, Leavenworth, and Wyandotte in Kansas. The Authority's jurisdiction is limited to these seven counties. The ATA operates The Metro bus service, the Metro Area Express (MAX) Bus Rapid Transit service, MetroFlex demand-response routes, Share-A-Fare paratransit service for the elderly and persons with disabilities, and AdVANtage vanpool service.