KCATA Board of Commissioners Elects New Officers

Posted on: Jan 27, 2020

The Board of Commissioners of the Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) elected new officers at the Jan. 22, 2020 board meeting. The new Board Chair is Commissioner David Bower of Jackson County, Mo. Commissioner Melissa Bynum of Wyandotte County, Kan., was elected Vice Chair. Commissioner Anne Post of Kansas City, Mo., was elected Secretary and Commissioner Jim Allen of Johnson County, Kan. was elected Treasurer. All the new officers held positions on the board last year. Commissioners are nominated at the end of the year and officially elected in January of each year.


In 2020, the Board meetings will be held bi-monthly at KCATA headquarters at 1200 E. 18th Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64108. The board meetings start at noon and are open to the public. For more information about each commissioner, visit our websit at kcata.org.  


KCATA is governed by a 10-member Board of Commissioners, five from Missouri and five from Kansas. Commissioners are limited to two consecutive four-year terms. Responsibility for the management, control and operation of the Authority and its properties is vested in the Board. The Board exercises its responsibility by adopting all general policies of the Authority, including the adoption of annual capital and operating budgets, the establishment of the goals of the Authority, and the selection of a CEO. The Board may delegate certain duties and responsibilities to the CEO for the management and operation of the Authority.