KCATA Honors 76 Bus Operators for Distinguished Service

Posted on: Jan 31, 2019

(Kansas City, Mo. I Jan. 31, 2019) The Kansas City Area Transportation Authority (KCATA) will honor 76 bus operators for keeping passengers safe and providing excellent customer service during the annual Distinguished Driver Awards on Feb. 1, 2019, at 11:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. at 1350 E. 17th St.
(Media should check in with the guard post to receive instructions on where to go.)

This year’s winners will receive awards for having no avoidable vehicle or passenger accidents. The operators also exhibited great customer service and received no write-ups or suspensions. They also had good attendance and arrived on time for work every day.   

The Distinguished Drivers ceremony honors operators in several categories listed below.

2018 Meritorious Driver -This operator has earned distinguished driver status for 15 years.
- Gary Blaylock

2018 Grand Master Drivers - These two operators earned Distinguished Driver status for 10 years.
- Laverne White
- Regina Miller

2018 Master Drivers – These operators earned Master Driver status for five years.
- Michael Kolie
- Brian Dyer
- Geran McConnell
- Michael Barton
- Brenda Hinton

68 other operators will be awarded the Distinguished Driver award.

KCATA CEO Robbie Makinen and other management staff will address the award winners.